Welcome to the 2020 AICUO Award for Excellence in the Visual Arts.

Grand Award Winner
People’s Choice Award Winner

The Award for Excellence in the Visual Arts (EVAs) is the nation’s first intercollegiate online arts competition. It recognizes outstanding students from the art programs at independent colleges and universities in every region of Ohio. Launched in 2008, the EVAs use the Internet as a venue for the competition, providing each nominated student with a permanent online portfolio on the AICUO website. The EVAs reception culminates the competition and the reception includes a student panel, an art exhibition presenting the six award winners, and an awards ceremony.

Senior students, attending our member institutions, who have an exceptional portfolio and artistic drive are nominated by their department chairs or deans. The six finalists are selected by one round of judging, followed by a second round that selects the award winner based on the highest score in that round. The award winner with the highest score is given the Grand Award.  Work from the nominees will be on the AICUO Art Award website during the months of February and March, during which time the public is invited to vote for an individual for the People’s Choice Award. The six award winners present their work at the annual AICUO Award reception. All award winners receive a prize package and the Grand Award winner receives an additional cash award.

Every nominated student is provided with a permanent online portfolio that remains on the AICUO Website even after the competition concludes.

Learn more about AICUO

People’s Choice

Have your say! Cast your vote for your favorite piece of work by one of this year’s nominees.


Every year we are incredibly grateful to the many sponsors that make this awards program possible. This year's sponsors are...

Awards Reception

AICUO invites you to the award reception for the AICUO Award for Excellence in the Visual Arts on Tuesday, March 31st, 2020. Come celebrate visual arts excellency with AICUO as we recognize graduating seniors from independent colleges and universities across Ohio. The student panel will begin at 5 p.m. and the reception and student exhibition will begin at 6 p.m.

Denison University

Google Map


The first round jury consists of art department faculty from member institutions, while second round judges are community leaders from Ohio involved in the visual arts. Most of our judges are practicing artists, and we encourage you to check out their websites.


Round One Judges


Darlene Michitsch - Baldwin Wallace University
Kevin Lyles - Rio Grande University
Geno Luketic - University of Dayton
Anna Arnold - Ursuline College
Kathy McGhee - Columbus College of Art & Design
Kelly Phelps - Xavier University
Zac Benson - Cedarville University
Joseph Van Kerkhove - Tiffin University
Kathy Buszkiewicz - Cleveland Institute of Art
Emily Hanako Momohara - Art Academy of Cincinnati
Sheilah Restack - Denison University
Jim Higgins - Capital University
Anne Marie Beekman - University of Findlay
Johnny Coleman - Oberlin University
Andi Baumgartner - Bluffton University
Amber Kempthorn - The College of Wooster



Round Two Judges


Brittni Hall
Matthew Gallagher
Stacy Leeman
Juliet Thibault
Sarah Hahn
Julie Yassenoff
Julie Davis
Sam Hitchman
Alex Coon
Rosa Rumorav
Marcia Evans




See nominees, finalists, and winners from EVAs past.


© AICUO 2020    Contact Us