Welcome to the 2018 AICUO Award for Excellence in the Visual Arts.


The Award for Excellence in the Visual Arts (EVAs) is the nation’s first intercollegiate online arts competition. It recognizes outstanding students from the art programs at independent colleges and universities in every region of Ohio. Launched in 2008, the EVAs use the Internet as a venue for the competition, providing each nominated student with a permanent online portfolio on the AICUO website. The EVAs reception culminates the competition and the reception includes a student panel, an art exhibition presenting the six award winners, and an awards ceremony.

Senior students, attending our member institutions, who have an exceptional portfolio and artistic drive are nominated by their department chairs or deans. The six finalists are selected by one round of judging, followed by a second round that selects the award winner based on the highest score in that round. The award winner with the highest score is given the Grand Award.  Work from the nominees will be on the AICUO Art Award website during the months of February and March, during which time the public is invited to vote for an individual for the People’s Choice Award. The six award winners present their work at the annual AICUO Award reception. All award winners receive a prize package and the Grand Award winner receives an additional cash award.

Every nominated student is provided with a permanent online portfolio that remains on the AICUO Website even after the competition concludes.

Learn more about AICUO

People’s Choice

Have your say! Cast your vote for your favorite piece of work by one of this year’s nominees.


Every year we are incredibly grateful to the many sponsors that make this awards program possible. This year's sponsors are...

Awards Reception

AICUO invites you to the award reception for the AICUO Award for Excellence in the Visual Arts on Thursday, April 5th, 2018. Come celebrate visual arts excellency with AICUO as we recognize graduating seniors from independent colleges and universities across Ohio.

Columbus College of Art & Design
Canzani Center
60 Cleveland Avenue,
Columbus, OH 43215

Google Map


The first round jury consists of art department faculty from member institutions, while second round judges are community leaders from Ohio involved in the visual arts. Most of our judges are practicing artists, and we encourage you to check out their websites.


Round One Judges


Carol Griffith – Columbus College of Art & Design
Jonathan Johnson – Otterbein University
Philip Sugden – Bluffton University
Craig Lloyd – Mount St. Joseph University
David Williamson – Baldwin Wallace University
Nancy Prudic – Lake Erie College
Annie Lee-Zimerle – Cedarville University
Emily Sullivan – University of Dayton
Kevin Lyles – University of Rio Grande
Ramya Ravisankar – Capital University



See nominees, finalists, and winners from EVAs past.


© AICUO 2018    Contact Us